LibGuides: English 2010: Research Help

Selecting a Topic

Selecting a research topic is the first step in the research cycle. To learn more about topic selection and how to narrow your topic, watch the video below. If required, be sure to get your topic approved by your instructor. The library databases below are a great starting point for exploring information on many topics.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search for information and differing opinions on current, controversial social issues. Good database for pro/con topics.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides general information on a variety of topics. This database is a good resource for background information and topic selection.
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Researcher provides general information on many topics related to social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. This databases is good to use for background information and topic selection.

Identify What You Already Know

Part of research is identifying what you already know about your topic. Use the 5 W's (who, what, when, where, and why of the topic.) to identify what your already know.

Background Research

Background research is a helpful step that can give you more information about a topic before you decide on your final research question. Using basic reference sources, like SIRS Researcher, Credo Reference, Opposing Viewpoints in Context and even Wikipedia will help you learn what others are discussing about your topic. You should also take note of relevant keywords that relate to your topic in your background searching.

SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window

Narrow Your Topic Using Keywords

Once you have an idea of your topic and you have done some basic background research, you are ready to narrow your topic and prepare for more in-depth and focused research. One technique that helps with narrowing a topic is to identify keywords. When you did your background search, you probably started to see words that were specific to your topic. You can start by using some of these keywords or adding your own. Below is an example of the process:

Broad Topic: Space travel
Keywords from background search: living in space, space station, Mars exploration, landing on the moon, Space X, etc.
Research idea: How did landing on the Moon launch further space exploration?
Narrowing my idea: In what ways did landing on the Moon help move space exploration forward for the United States?

You are now ready to begin looking for specific information in the library databases on your focused topic using keywords from the narrow question in #4 above. The keywords and phrases could be "landing on the moon", space exploration in the United States, future space exploration.

Remember that it is common to modify your topic during the research process.

Use Library Databases to find Peer-Reviewed Articles

After you have conducted preliminary research, gathered background information and found information to support your topic, you will be ready to search for specific information on your topic. It is likely that you will be required to use scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in your research. The library databases have thousands of scholarly and peer-reviewed articles on a variety of topics. To get started, use the Snow College Database Search link below. If you don't find what you need, be sure to use our free ask-a-librarian service. We can help you develop a search strategy using keywords and Boolean operators.