LibGuides: Virtual Library Research Guide: Find Electronic Books

eBooks

The Snow College Library provides access to thousands of electronic books. Use the links below to get started searching our ebook databases. Use broad keywords*, author name, or book title to find books on your topic.

*Note: When searching for books, use broad subject keywords. For example, if your topic is related to the use of technology in agriculture, then use broad keywords, such as farming and technology or agriculture and drones. Avoid using sentences or complex search statement, such as, "how are drones used in agriculture?" or "What are the benefits of drones for farming?"

If you are searching off-campus, you may need to enter your Snow College SSO user name and password when prompted.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and interdisciplinary collection of over 60,000 eBooks specifically designed to facilitate teaching, learning and research outcomes in 2-year and 4-year colleges.
O'Reilly Books Online This link opens in a new window
This database covers business, computer science, software engineering, communication, information sciences, mathematics and more. To access content you need to create a free account with O’Reilly.
Follow the instructions below to create your free student account:
- Click the “access database” link above.
- On the database page, hover over the “select your institution” drop-down menu.
- Click on “Not Listed” option at top of the menu.
- Create a free account using your Snow College email address in the firstname.lastname@students.snow.edu format.
- Contact the Snow College Library if you need help.
Access to the database is also available through the O'Reilly IOS and Android apps.
Other information about the database content: Nearly 7000 titles from the following publishers: O'Reilly,Addison-Wesley, Sams, Prentice Hall, Que, Cisco Press, Microsoft Press, Peachpit Press, New Riders Publishing, Course Technology, IBM Press, Macromedia, Adobe Press, SAS Publishing, FT Press, MySQL Press, No Starch, Novell Press, Syngress, Wharton School Publishing.

Overdrive
OverDrive is a popular platform for providing access to eBooks and audiobooks. It is a new resource for Snow College library users (summer 2022). You can access it by the URL provided or by using the Libby (by OverDrive) app. Download the Libby app to your mobile device and when asked if you have a library card, say “yes.” Then use the library search option to find “Snow College.” You can then “sign in with your card.” This should get you to a Snow College Libraries login screen. Use your BadgerWeb username/password and you should be good to go! This collection will grow over time. If you would like to suggest a title to be added to the OverDrive collection, you can use this form: https://www.snow.edu/library/purchase_request.html

A few electronic books available through Snow College

Caring in Nursing Classics : An Essential Resource by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri
ISBN: 9780826171115
Publication Date: 2013
Epidemic by Reid Wilson
ISBN: 9780815731351
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
The Future of Work by Darrell M. West
ISBN: 9780815732938
Publication Date: 2018-05-15

Virtual Library Research Guide

Quick Links

Finding Materials Help

eBooks

A few electronic books available through Snow College