LibGuides: Music: Find Articles

Databases

To begin your search finding articles in the Snow College Libraries select one of the databases below. A database provides access to a variety of sources, such as scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, electronic books, streaming video, newspapers and magazines.

Access to the library databases below is available to current Snow College students, faculty and staff.
Access to the databases is available on and off campus.
Use our free Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service when you cannot access the full-text of an article. Students, faculty and staff should never have to pay to access an article. We will get the article for you - for free!
For additional help using the databases, use our ask-a-librarian service or book an appointment with a librarian.
To find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, use the peer-reviewed filter in the database you are using. Not all the articles in the databases are scholarly or peer-reviewed. However, most of the databases will filter and label peer-reviewed articles, making it easier to find and identify peer-reviewed articles.

Databases

Naxos Online Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 74,930 CDs with more than 1,078,600 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. Ten Snow College users can access the database at the same time.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online is a dynamic online resource and the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. Now available through the Oxford Music Online gateway, Grove Music Online includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition. Grove Music Online also includes access to the full text of the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Note: Grove Music Online is currently available to one Snow College user at a time.
Alexander Street Music Reference & Scores
Alexander Street provides musical reference material and a library of classical scores.
Music Index
Music Index database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music.
Project MUSE
a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Over 500 journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are available.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, including history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

Database

The SingleSearch Database will search most of our databases, but not all of them.

Music

Quick Links

Finding Articles Help

Databases

Databases

Database