LibGuides: Pro/Con Resources: Identifying Pro/Con Topics

To get started on researching your pro/con issue, use the search box on the main library website or choose a recommended Snow College Library database below. The articles and information in these databases provide quality information and analytical articles and reports written by experts on pro/con issues.

Using keywords to search for articles will provide you with best results. Here are some recommended keyword searches to try as you begin searching. Enter your keyword in the search box on our library website or in other database search boxes.

point counterpoint your topic here (example: point counterpoint organized crime)
your topic here pro con (example: marijuana legalization pro con)

When You Need a Research Topic
This tutorial highlights some quick techniques for developing a research topic with the help of our Gale databases.

Recommended Snow College Pro/Con Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database provides, topic suggestions and overviews on hundreds of current social issues. You will find full-text academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. For tutorials on how to use this database, click the Gale Opposing Viewpoints Tutorials tab on the left side of this page.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
This database focuses on providing users with coverage of United States and international events, including pro/con articles, a variety of videos and editorial cartoons. Search issues by subject or browse pro/con articles from the dropdown menu. watch this youtube video for tips on how to use this database: https://youtu.be/pp5JfhFTpl8
Credo Reference
Find pro/con information in this database by using the keyword search statement - pro con topics - to get ideas for pro con topics. If you know your topic use the search statement - pro con your topic. This database also provides links and suggestions to other databases with articles, videos and books related to the topic. Saving you search time.
SIRS Researcher
a general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 1,500 domestic and international publications. Articles are indexed according to Library of Congress subject headings and can be printed, saved or e-mailed. Additional content databases include excerpts from The World Almanac® and Book of Facts 2003, Maps of the World and American Model United Nations. Special online features include Spotlight of the Month and Today's News.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher database provides in-depth authoritative reports on a range of political and social-policy issues. Reports are sourced and include an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and a debate-style pro-con feature. Coverage is October 1991 to present.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues In Context offers continuously updated international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Included in this database are podcasts, video, and interactive graphs. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

The internet resources listed below may help you select and explore topics that are appropriate for a pro/con assignment.

Global Issues This United Nations website provides information on global issues with links to other resources, where you can get additional information.
ProCon.org ProCon.org, non-biased, nonpartisan information source, that presents sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues.