LibGuides: Pro/Con Resources: Finding Books About Your Pro/Con Topic

As a student at Snow College, you have access to electronic books through our ProQuest ebook database and our Libby by Overdrive database. Both databases provide academic-level ebooks for your learning and research needs. Click on the links below to access the databases. If you are off-campus, you will need to log-in using your MySnow log-in credentials.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and interdisciplinary collection of over 60,000 eBooks specifically designed to facilitate teaching, learning and research outcomes in 2-year and 4-year colleges.
Overdrive This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use magazine, ebook and audiobook database providing access to thousands of academic and popular ebooks, audiobooks and digital magazines through the LIbby app and online.
OverDrive is a popular platform for providing access to thousands of digital magazine, eBooks and audiobooks.
You can access the Snow College collection here or you can use the Libby by OverDrive app for IOS and Android.
After you have downloaded the Libby app to your mobile device following the steps below to access the Snow College collection:
1. Tap, “yes”, I have a library card, when prompted.
2. Use the library search option to find “Snow College.”
3. Tap, “Sign in with your card”. This will take you to a Snow College Libraries login screen.
4. Use your MySnow username/password to log in.
5. Make your selection, then, listen or read your book.
6. Your book will be automatically returned at the end of the loan period.
If you would like to suggest a title to be added to the OverDrive collection, you can use this form.

Find Print Books

To discover the thousands of print books the library has, search in our library catalog. The library catalog mainly searches for print items on our shelves.

If you want to browse our shelves for books, below are some recommended sections to browse. Depending on the topic being researched, books from any part of the library could be used, but, most controversial issues fall within the 300s (social sciences) call number range.

320 Political Science
330 Economics
340 Law
350 Public Administration & Military Science
360 Social Problems & Services (browsing this area can often lead to a topic of interest)
370 Education

You can check the DVD area and the book shelves for these call numbers.

The library also has access to over 150,000 eBooks.