Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Snow College OER Knowledge Expert
Courses and Videos
Mass Media courses at Coursera
Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.
Journalism Courses at Future Learn
Learn about the key principles and debates in journalism and enact the role of a journalist in the context of an escalating story or gain practical skills and insights into hyper-local journalism, and use digital and social media to create your own news website.
MIT OPEN COURSEWARE: Comparative Media Studies/Writing
MIT Comparative Media Studies/Writing offers an innovative program that applies critical analysis, collaborative research, and design across a variety of media arts, forms, and practices.
MIT OPEN COURSEWARE: Media Arts and Sciences
At MIT, the phrase Media Arts and Sciences signifies the study, invention and creative use of enabling technologies for understanding and expression by people and machines.
But, wait, there is more . . . .
This is not an all inclusive list of resources to Open Educational Resources. A search on the worldwide web for Open Educational Resources will provide the user with more resources not listed on this guide.
The objective of this guide is to provide the necessary resources to start the curious mind on the pursuit of further discovery, research and knowledge on the topic of Open Educational Resources.
This section provides links to OER textbooks specifically created for Mass Media and Communication studies. If you have an OER resource you want to share that's not on this list, send an email to email@example.com.
Journalism, fake news & disinformation: handbook for journalism education and training
Created in 2018 by UNESCO, this 3.0 creative commons licensed resource provides global guidance to journalism teachers on how to teach fake news, disinformation and misinformation. This open educational resources provides 7 modules with lesson plans, suggested activities, learning outcomes, discussions, readings, reading lists and citations to academic material. #fightfakenews
The Data Journalism Handbook 1
Interested in the field of data journalism? Teaching a data journalism course? Thinking about creating one? This seven chapter open educational resource might be for you. Topics covered include, what is data journalism, the ABCs of data journalism, case studies, and getting, understanding and delivering data
The Data Journalism Handbook 2: Towards a Critical Data Practice
What is data journalism? What is it for? What might it do? What opportunities and limitations does it present? Who and what is involved in making and making sense of it?
Produced by European Journalism Centre and Google News Initiative
Journalism 2.0: How to Survive and Thrive
A basic introductory journalism book for the 21st century. This resource covers the basics of journalism in the digital age. This eleven chapter book includes coverage on FTP, RSS, web 2.0, reporting news on the web, podcasting, digital audio, video editing. writing scripts and voice-overs and blogging. NOTE: Some content may be outdated since this OER was created in 2007.
Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication from Open Textbook Library
Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication.
Created in 2016, this 4 star OER has sixteen chapters covering a wide-range of media: books, newspapers, magazines, music, radio, movies and television. Other chapters cover the internet and social media, advertising and public relations, economics of mass media and more.
Media Studies 101 from Open Textbook Library
Media Studies 101, created in 2013 for media studies in New Zealand, Australia and Pacifica, this OER has four sections covering: reading media texts; culture and contexts, production and structures and audiences & identity. Sections are designed to be used together or independently based on the need of the user (note from author). text is CC BY licensed
These websites are OER repositories that have a variety of OER textbooks and other OER resources covering many disciplines. Use these websites to search for open textbooks and other open materials that fit your subject area needs.
Utah Open Educational Resources
Find out what is going on in Utah with OER. This website provides Utah OER information and links to resources for finding textbooks, using the open web, tracking OER use in Utah and more.
Open Learning Initiative
This Carnegie Mellon University website hosts full courses from general education to STEM Pathway. Includes face-to-face classes, online and hybrid using evidence-based learning sciences.
On this site you will find openly licensed textbooks and courses written and curated by The State University of New York (SUNY) Faculty.
Collection of curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
UEN Open Educational Resources
OER materials and support for K-12 instructors, librarians and staff with links to other OER resources. Utah is a #GoOpen State (https://tech.ed.gov/open/states/).
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Elsevier Open Access Journals
An Elsevier database of Open Access Journals. All articles are available at no cost to users and can be viewed and downloaded.
A repository of open, full course content in the following subject areas: art, business, English, mathematics, natural and social sciences, technology and transitional studies.
A repository for OER created by and for faculty, students and staff at colleges, universities and schools around the world. This website also gets you started on the path to creating your own OER materials.
Project Muse Open-Access Journals and Ebooks
Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Through our open access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These books and journals are freely available to libraries and users around the world (description from the website).
NYUPress Open Square
Open Square is NYU Press’s platform for publishing and reading open access books. A browser-based reading platform, Open Square enables us to increase the impact of scholarly work by making it freely available in a digital format and to experiment with new ways of presenting scholarship and adding enhanced content to traditionally published books. Open Square features new and recently published titles as well as a growing library of classic backlist publications. (description from website)
Snow College Libraries are not responsible for the content or accuracy of any website linked to this Website/newsletter. The links are provided for your information and convenience only. Snow College does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Websites. If you access or use any third party websites linked to Snow College's website(s), you do so at your own risk. Snow College makes no representation or warranty that any other website is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.