LibGuides: FACULTY LIBRARY GUIDE: Books

BOOKS AT THE SNOW COLLEGE LIBRARIES

We strive to purchase books that support your courses. We have an extensive and growing collection of both physical, electronic and audiobooks.

Make a Purchase Request.

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Ebooks are a great resource for online and on-campus students.
We provide access to thousands of academic eBooks through various databases.
Use the links below to access our full-text, ebook dedicated databases.
- These databases are accessible 24/7 from any internet device.
- Off-campus users log in with your Badger ID and password when prompted.
- For more information about off-campus access visit our Access Anywhere page.
To send your students to these databases
- provide a link to our A to Z database list or
- ask a librarian to create a course specific library guide you can embed in your Canvas Course.
You can also search our ebook collection by using the Snow College Database Search on our main library website.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of about 150,000 eBooks from over 60 publishers, including Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley InterScience. The collection covers a variety of subjects, and allows users to search, cite, browse, and read the full text of the eBooks online, and in most cases, download eBooks for offline reading with the “Bluefire App.” For details on downloading eBooks to your mobile device, click here.
O'Reilly Books Online This link opens in a new window
This database covers business, computer science, software engineering, communication, information sciences, mathematics and more. To access content you need to create a free account with O’Reilly.
Follow the instructions below to create your free student account:
- Click the “access database” link above.
- On the database page, hover over the “select your institution” drop-down menu.
- Click on “Not Listed” option at top of the menu.
- Create a free account using your Snow College email address in the firstname.lastname@students.snow.edu format.
- Contact the Snow College Library if you need help.
Access to the database is also available through the O'Reilly IOS and Android apps.
Other information about the database content: Nearly 7000 titles from the following publishers: O'Reilly,Addison-Wesley, Sams, Prentice Hall, Que, Cisco Press, Microsoft Press, Peachpit Press, New Riders Publishing, Course Technology, IBM Press, Macromedia, Adobe Press, SAS Publishing, FT Press, MySQL Press, No Starch, Novell Press, Syngress, Wharton School Publishing.

Overdrive
OverDrive is a popular platform for providing access to eBooks and audiobooks. It is a new resource for Snow College library users (summer 2022). You can access it by the URL provided or by using the Libby (by OverDrive) app. Download the Libby app to your mobile device and when asked if you have a library card, say “yes.” Then use the library search option to find “Snow College.” You can then “sign in with your card.” This should get you to a Snow College Libraries login screen. Use your BadgerWeb username/password and you should be good to go! This collection will grow over time. If you would like to suggest a title to be added to the OverDrive collection, you can use this form: https://www.snow.edu/library/purchase_request.html

PRINT BOOKS

Use the Library Catalog to see what we have on our physical shelves.

AUDIO BOOKS

We have a growing collection of electronic, downloadable, academic and leisure audiobooks.

Audiobooks are growing in popularity among academic students.
Audiobooks provide access to those with various learning modalities
We add new audiobooks every year to our growing collection.
Use the links below to access our audiobook dedicated databases.
- These databases are accessible 24/7 from any internet device.
  - To use audiobooks from your smartphone device, you need to download the app for that database (Libby by Overdrive app or EBSCO audiobook app for Android and Apple).
  - Visit "Downloading an EBSCO Audiobook" or "Getting Started with Libby" for more information.
  - Off-campus users log in with your Badger ID and password when prompted.
  - For more information about off-campus access visit our Access Anywhere page.
To send your students to these databases
- provide a link to our A to Z database list or
- ask a librarian to create a course specific library guide you can embed in your Canvas Course.
You can also search our audiobook collections by using the Snow College Database Search on our main library website.

Overdrive
OverDrive is a popular platform for providing access to eBooks and audiobooks. It is a new resource for Snow College library users (summer 2022). You can access it by the URL provided or by using the Libby (by OverDrive) app. Download the Libby app to your mobile device and when asked if you have a library card, say “yes.” Then use the library search option to find “Snow College.” You can then “sign in with your card.” This should get you to a Snow College Libraries login screen. Use your BadgerWeb username/password and you should be good to go! This collection will grow over time. If you would like to suggest a title to be added to the OverDrive collection, you can use this form: https://www.snow.edu/library/purchase_request.html