Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles Help
Having trouble finding the right articles?
The Library can help you track it down.
- Visit the front desk
- Call us at 435-283-7363
- Text us at (844) 669-7740
- Email us: library (at) snow.edu
The SingleSearch Database will search most of our databases, but not all of them.
These are just a few of the databases the library provides. We've picked out a few that we think have exceptional features that can be used in innovative ways.
The Utah Collections Multimedia Encyclopedia is a continuing series of CD-ROM volumes as well as an ever-expanding world wide web site whose contributors include many institutions, organizations and agencies throughout Utah. This site serves as a storehouse of multimedia items which educators, professors and students can freely use in lesson plans, reports and projects without fear of copyright infringement. Marriott Library's Utah Postcard Collection is among the items indexed. Updated: Irregular
Alexander Street Music Reference & Scores
Alexander Street provides musical reference material and a library of classical scores.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil war and Reconstruction (published between 1684-1912). More than 10 million pages have been digitized and the collection contains titles in more than two dozen languages including English, French, German, Norwegian, Spanish and more.
American Doctoral Dissertations
American Doctoral Dissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a broad span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
A growing collection of online audiobooks. Search, listen to samples, and download your selection.
Credo Reference is an easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Issues are available online from October 1991.
Digital Theatre Plus
A streaming video resource of performances and interviews of a number of classic and Shakespearean productions, including: a library of award-winning productions to watch in full or break down by scene, act or speech; and interviews and documentaries featuring the cast and creative teams behind each production. The resource also provides detailed study guides, authored by experts in the field.
About 150,000 e-books on all kinds of academic topics.
Films on Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Flipster Digital Magazines
Flipster®, the next-gen digital newsstand now offers content across all of your favorite devices. With access to the top magazines combined with an easy to use interface, Flipster offers users a unique reading experience that can be enjoyed anytime, anywhere.
Focus 2 Career
Focus 2 Career is a self-guided career, major and education planning system designed to guide you through the steps of the career planning process. You can use FOCUS 2 at any stage of your education and career planning according to your personal needs. Start with any feature, repeat a feature if desired and use the system as an ongoing resource. All your results are saved and accessible in your FOCUS 2 Portfolio.- See more at: https://www.snow.edu/library/databases.html#sthash.7qmwc3lS.dpuf
Global Road Warrior
Provides information on the countries of the world relating to demographics, business, social customs, travel information and more.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Mountain West Digital Library
The Mountain West Digital Library is an aggregation of digital collections from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, and Idaho. Hosting institutions each run servers supporting their own digital collections and support partner institutions by providing scanning and hosting services. The Mountain West defines the region of contributors, but the content extends beyond the Mountain West and into different fields.
New York Times Online
For first-time access, go to https://myaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass and follow the steps for creating an account. If you are off campus, you will then go to a login page—use your Banner/Snow College username and password. You will then see a New York Times registration page—finish creating your account there. You will not have to use the link provided above after this. Go directly to nytimes.com from any web enabled device and login with the NYT username/password you created. (Faculty will need to return to here annually to renew access).
Snow College faculty also have access to additional resources that are designed to help you use our campus access to NYTimes.com with your students.The New York Times in Education has instructional strategies and classroom activities designed to support areas of study: American Government, Arts & Visual Culture, Biology, Business, Campaigns & Elections, Criminal Justice, Environmental Sciences, International Relations, Leadership, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Population Health & Nursing, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology and Writing & English Composition.Accessing these teaching resources is easy – simply visit nytimesineducation.com and click link “Register Now” at the upper right hand corner. From there, follow the instructions to create an account using your @snow.edu email address.
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 64,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including more than 1,500 full text periodicals.
Utah State History Publications
Utah State History and the Utah State Historical Society have made a variety of books and periodicals available online. Notable publications include the Utah Centennial County History Series and the Utah Historical Quarterly.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
The Issues & Controversies database contains tools for students to help analyze research (with varying documents and sources), as well as helpful tools to present the research, such as citation and avoiding plagiarism. Additionally, there a wide selection of curriculum tools for teachers, including lesson plans. When you select a lesson plan it gives a brief overview of the plan and has NUMEROUS helpful tools, including handouts!