Skip to main content Libguides

Government: Government Databases

Quick Links

Government Databases Available to use Free of Charge

These are largely government databases available to use and explore free of charge.

U.S. Legislative Branch

United States Senate

Find U.S. Senators

Find Senate Committees, including membership and links to hearings / meetings.

United States House of Representatives

Find U.S. Representatives by state.

Find House Committees

Educational Resources, including the legislative process (how laws are made) and historical documents (U.S. Constitution, Declaration of Independence, Federalist Papers, and more)

Congressional Research Reports The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.

U.S. Executive Branch

The President of the United States - includes links to the Briefing Room, Issues, the Administration and Information about the White House.

The President of the United States has the authority to pronounce executive orders.  This site links to all major sources for these materials which includes Presidential directives, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders,  memoranda, and other documents.

The Executive Departments and Agencies -  click on each Cabinet Department for links to headquarters and sub-agencies

The Federal Register is the main source of information on proposed rules and regulations on approved legislation. A new source, GovPulse  is an easy to use resource for finding and commenting on proposed rules and regulations.

U.S. Judicial Branch

Supreme Court of the United States

The Federal Judiciary - links to the Federal Courts of Appeals, U.S. District Courts and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts

Federal Legislation

Congress.gov This site is phasing in all of the information and links from Thomas. It is mobile and iPad friendly.  It is much easier to find legislation, information about members of Congress and news about our Congress. THOMAS will eventually go away as this site becomes more robust. Until that time, reference both sites.

The Law Librarians' Society of Washington D.C. has assembled a Legislative Source Book that tracks the status of federal legislation and regulations. 

Find Legislation and Records, including votes, Congressional Record, and a link to THOMAS, the U.S. bill/law finder.

The Dirksen Center has published on the Internet a Congressional Time Line of important legislation from 1939 to 2009. There is an interactive window for further exploration.

The U.S. Congressional Publications database indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1969 to the present, and includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Provides full text for many titles. Click on the following link to access this dynamic resource:

This collection indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1969 to the present, and includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register.

Government Publications Catalog

A meta-database from the federal government, the Government Publications Catalog  is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. It is also called Metalib because of its ability to search the catalog and other government databases.

Congressional Sessions

Bills and Public Laws are identified by the Congressional session. Since 1934, the first session of a Congress convenes on January 3 of odd-numbered years and adjourns on January 3 the following odd-numbered year. Use this link to identify the year and the Congressional session.

Congressional Serial Set

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994

Includes House & Senate Reports, Senate treaty documents and Senate executive reports, and presidential messages. To see documents before this date, refer to the American State Papers, 1789-1838.

American State Papers

Search and browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses. This collection covers such historical events as Lewis and Clark’s Expedition, Burr’s Conspiracy and Arrest, the Treaty of the Creek Indians made by Andrew Jackson and much more. Also includes speeches and messages of Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison. Note: Please refer to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 database for post 1816 documents.

Science.gov  searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative data, including research and development results. There is also an all-Spanish version Ciencia which has the same breadth and depth of the research as the English counterpart.

Disclaimer

Snow College Libraries are not responsible for the content or accuracy of any website linked to this Website/newsletter.  The links are provided for your information and convenience only.  Snow College does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Websites.  If you access or use any third party websites linked to Snow College's website(s), you do so at your own risk.  Snow College makes no representation or warranty that any other website is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.