Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Trusted Music Web Resources
Snow College Music Department
Snow College Music Department including information on the Horne School of Music, degrees, classes, and faculty.
African American Sheet Music
Brown University & Library of Congress provided historical sheet music. The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use. It is one of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States.
America Singing: Nineteenth-Century Song Sheets
Contains 4291 song sheets. Included among these American songs are ninety-seven British song sheets from Dublin and London. The collection spans the period from the turn of the nineteenth century to the 1880s, although a majority of the song sheets were published during the height of the craze, from the 1850s to the 1870s. Held by the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress.
Band Music from the Civil War Era
This online collection presents several of the surviving examples of this music (both printed and manuscript) from the collections of the Music Division of the Library of Congress. Also included are the Manchester Cornet Band Books from the Walter Dignam Collection of the Manchester Historic Association External (Manchester, New Hampshire). The part books are presented both in their original order and grouped by song title. Several of the compositions from these part books are also presented in full-score modern editions created especially for this online collection.
Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection
Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection presents traditional fiddle tunes performed by Henry Reed of Glen Lyn, Virginia. Recorded by folklorist Alan Jabbour in 1966-67, when Reed was over eighty years old, the tunes represent the music and evoke the history and spirit of Virginia's Appalachian frontier.
Historic American Sheet Music
Duke University Collection - provides access to digital images for over 3,000 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1820-1860
Consists of over 15,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1820 to 1860. This collection complements an earlier American Memory project, Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music 1870-1885 as well as the Band Music from the Civil War Era and Sheet Music from the Civil War Era. I
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1870-1885
Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
Database of copyright or license holders of musical compositions from ASCAP, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.
Database of copyright or license holders of musical compositions registered with BMI.
Collections of dissertations from the American Musicological Society.
Global Music Archive
Collection of global music resources focusing on Africa and South America from the Blair School of Music at Vanderbilt University.
Opera & Ballet Scores
BYU provided collection of online Opera & Ballet scores and resources.