LibGuides: About the Library: Borrowing Books

Who can Borrow Books?

All current Snow College students staff, and faculty can use the library space, borrow physical items and access online resources.
If you are 18 years old or older and a resident of the six county area (Juab, Millard, Sevier, Wayne, Piute, and Sanpete), then, you are eligible for a community library card.

Renew your items

Call the Ephraim Circulation Desk at 435-283-7361 or the Richfield Circulation Desk at 435-893-2236.

Library Cards

All current Snow College students, faculty and staff can use all Snow College Library services. You will automatically have a Snow College library account on the first day of your first semester or within a few weeks after you begin employment. Your Badger ID card is your library card. It must be valid for the current semester. To get a Badger ID card, visit the Registrar's Office on the 2nd floor of the Greenwood Student Center.

You can get a Community Snow College library card if you are
- a non-student
- 18 years old and older
- resident in the six county area (Juab, Millard, Sevier, Wayne, Piute, and Sanpete)
To get a community Snow College library card, bring a current state or federal photo ID with a current address to the main desk of either library location (Ephraim or Richfield).

Note::Community cards allow patrons to borrow physical items (books, DVDs, magazines, etc.) in either library location. Due to license restrictions, community patrons cannot access the library databases on or off-campus or use our inter-library loan service.

What is Reciprocal Borrowing? Reciprocal borrowing is a statewide higher education library program in Utah.

Who can use Reciprocal Borrowing? Current Snow College students, faculty, & staff may borrow books from other higher education libraries in Utah by using your current Badger ID card. You can only use this reciprocal borrowing service if you are a current student or employee of a higher education institute in Utah.

How do I use Reciprocal Borrowing? Visit a Utah participating higher education institution library*. Present your current, valid higher education ID at the library main desk to borrow items from the library.

How many items can I borrow from a participating library? Reciprocal borrowing patrons may check out up to five items from the library collection.

Where can I find more information about Reciprocal Borrowing? Visit the Circulation Desk, call (435) 283-7363 or visit our Reciprocal Borrowing library tips page

Can I also use databases and electronic resources at participating libraries? No. Due to licensing requirements, Reciprocal Borrowing patrons cannot access electronic resources at other libraries while on or off campus.

*What Higher Education Institutions participate in the Utah Reciprocal Borrowing Program?: Utah State University, Weber State University, Utah Valley University, BYU, University of Utah, Salt Lake Community College, Westminster College, Snow College, Southern Utah University and Dixie State University.

To find books in the library, search our Library Catalog or browse the shelves. Visit the main desk on the main floor of the library if you need help finding a book. A circulation assistant will help you locate the item.

Library garden level

Student computer labs with print stations
Group study rooms
Center for New Media computer labs
Library Instruction room (027)
Teaching & Learning Center
3D printing, Lamination and Large Format Printing

Library 1st floor

Circulation Desk
Self-Checkout Station
DVD collection
New Books collection
current magazines
Open reading and study areas

Arcade

Bistro
Auditorium rooms A & B

Library 2nd floor

Main Book Collection
Map Collection
Juvenile Children's book Collection
Print Journals and Magazines
Access to Verandas
Brody Individual Study Pods
Open Group study areas
Meditation rooms

Library 3rd floor

Individual quiet study areas
Group study rooms

Checkout Policy

To borrow items bring them to the Circulation Desk on the main floor by the library entrance or you can use the self-checkout station across from the main floor circulation desk. You will need your Badger ID or your Community Card.
The borrow period for
- Books: 21 days with a maximum of two renewals, as long as the item is not on hold for another patron.
- Music CDs: 21 days
- Audiobooks: 21 days
- DVDs: 7 days
- Course Reserves: 2 hours in library use only to 3 days depending on the item.
A maximum of 20 items may be borrowed by Snow College student, faculty and staff.
A maximum of 10 items may be borrowed by Community Card patrons.
If you would like to borrow an item that is already checked out, you may place a hold on the item through the Library catalog by selecting the "Place Hold" option on the item's record. You will be notified by email, phone or text message once the item has arrived.
If the catalog indicates an item is on the shelf, but you are unable to locate it, come to the Circulation Desk and ask for assistance.
Patrons are responsible for all items checked out on their account.
Late fees accrue for all items except books, DVDs & Music/Recorded books CDs
The book replacement fee is a minimum of $40.00 and media items have a minimum replacement fee of $30.00 each. The library reserves the right to assess a higher fee based on actual item value. Fees for all other items and damaged equipment will be considered on a case by case basis.

Electronic Books are available through the Snow College Ebook database

Textbook and Course Reserves

Textbook and Course Reserve

Making A Difference For Students

Textbook and Course Reserves is a collection of textbooks and other course-related items (like cameras, tripods, etc.) that your instructor places in the library for you to use while enrolled in a course.

The Course Reserve list shows what textbooks and other items are on reserve for your course.
Using course reserve items is FREE to Snow College students on both campuses.
Using course reserves means you can save money because you won't have to purchase your own textbook.