Skip to main content
Trusted Communication Web Resources
Snow College Communication Department
Welcome to Snow College Communication Department! Get involved in Communication where you can write, edit, advertise, and produce a substantial newspaper with weekly editions. You could also host your own radio talk show, participate in a TV broadcasting shoot, or plan and execute a major communication competition. Competition your forte? Get involved with Forensics and travel around the country competing in national events.
A project of the non-profit Independent Media Institute, AlterNet is a highly acclaimed Internet information source that provides readers with facts and opinions not carried in traditional media.Its mission is to "inspire citizen action and advocacy on the environment, human rights and civil liberties, social justice, media, and health care issues".[
Directory of Open Access Journals: Communication & Mass Media
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
American Association of Advertising Agencies
The national trade association representing the advertising agency business in the United States.
American Communication Association
The American Communication Association is a not-for-profit organization, a virtual professional association of communication scholars and practitioners.
The Center for Media and Democracy's PR Watch
The nonprofit Center for Media and Democracy works to strengthen democracy by promoting media that are 'of, by and for the people.'
MIT Open Courseware--Comparative Media Studies/Writing
MIT Comparative Media Studies/Writing offers an innovative program that applies critical analysis, collaborative research, and design across a variety of media arts, forms, and practices. MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Alphabetic list of Communication theories (with definitions).
The University of Iowa's Communication Studies Index of Online Sources
A list of web resources in communication, advertising and media compiled by the University of Iowa's Communication Department.
Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986.
Poynter Online is the homepage of an educational institute for journalists.
Youth Media Risk
Includes an integrated content analysis of the behaviors -- both positive and negative -- that are modeled in media. Provides scholars and practitioners with access to the code sheet definitions, reference lists, and results of content analyses of the top 30 popular films from 1950-2004 and a sample of television, music videos, and top teen internet sites.
Pew Research Center: Journalism & Media
Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism. Includes data sets, analysis, State of the News Media annual report, and journalism resources.
"The CLIO Awards is the world’s most recognized global awards competition for advertising, design, interactive and public relations." Website includes video gallery, past awards, and an archive.